Chartwell Booksellers Chartwell featured on CBS Sunday Morning USA TODAY Celebrates CHARTWELL BOOKSELLERS
Advanced Search
Watch our Webcasts
Chartwell Booksellers: A Bookstore in the Classic Tradition

Winston Churchill First Editions. Signed Books by Winston Churchill. Rare Books by Winston Churchill. Books About Winston Churchill. Churchill Speeches. Churchill Paintings. Churchill photographs. Churchilliana.

Winston S. Churchill bust


"One Continent Redeemed/ January-August 1943"


By: Martin Gilbert and Larry P. Arnn
Edition: First American Edition
Date: 2015
Published: Hillsdale College Press [Michigan]
Size (Details): 8vo (2,471 pages)
Binding: Hardcover (with Dust Jacket) [Blue cloth]

Category: The Official Biography
From: Churchill at Chartwell
Item Number: 204386

Description: This is the fifth "Documents" [COMPANION] Volume for Main Volume VI. It constitutes another wholly new Documents volume, following Hillsdale College Press' reissue of the Official Biography and existing Documents Volumes in their entirety. Unlike the originals, Hillsdale College Press Documents volumes are numbered consecutively as one continuous set of books, rather than as contained sets attached to each MAIN volume in the series. Thus, this, this newly added Documents Volume 18 corresponds to what would have been COMPANION Volume VI-Part 5 in the original set. New, in dust jacket.

Previous Page



The Official Biography is the ultimate source work about Sir Winston Churchill and the longest biography ever published (the actual Guinness record holder). Begun by Churchill's son Randolph (who authored Volumes I and II), the 8-volume set was completed (Volumes III-VIII) by Sir Martin Gilbert, whose great achievement it remains. The 8 Main text volumes are supplemented by 18 Companion volumes (to date) that reproduce in their entirety most of the letters and documents referred to in the Main volumes. These Main volumes consist of Volume I: Youth (1874-1900), Volume II: Young Statesman (1901-1914), Volume III: The Challenge Of War (1914-1916), Volume IV: The Stricken World (1917-1922), Volume V: The Prophet Of Truth (1922-1939), Volume VI: Finest Hour (1939-1941), Volume VII: Road To Victory (1941-1945) and Volume VIII: Never Despair (1945-1965). The Companion volumes are comprised of: Volume I (2 parts); Volume II (3 parts); Volume III (2 parts); Volume IV (3 parts); Volume V (3 parts); and Volume VI (5 parts, with more still to come. The last two are the work of Hillsdale College Press, and are numbered somewhat differently). A total of five further Companion volumes are still planned. Sir Martin Gilbert passed away in 2015.










Churchill Style: The Art of Being Winston Churchill